Portishead Primary School

Portishead Primary School

Learning & achieving together

Meet the Governors

Members of the Local Governing Body are drawn from parents, school staff, and the community. They oversee the management and leadership of the school. 

Governor Vacancies

We are looking to fill our co-opted governor vacancy, ideally with someone from the wider town community who brings background, approach and experience to complement those of our existing governors.  If you're interested in becoming a governor, please read the information below about the role (and ineligibility), and arrange to speak with Helen Dawes [Chair of Governors] by emailing chairofgov@portisheadprimary.co.uk

If you have any queries about the governor appointment process, please contact Cathryn Butler [Clerk to Governors] by emailing pps.clerk@portisheadprimary.co.uk

Governors are appointed for a four-year term of office.  In appropriate circumstances, they may serve a subsequent term.

The School Governors

Helen Dawes       Co-opted Governor and Chair of Governors
Angela Cook       Co-opted Governor
Helen Della Nave       Parent Governor
Janet Fletcher       Co-opted Governor
Lisa Gardner       Co-opted Governor and Vice-Chair of Governors
Tim Howes       Co-opted Governor
Kimberley Jones       Co-opted Governor
Alastair McKenzie-Kerr       Parent Governor
Richard Riordan       Headteacher
Philip Rowe       Co-opted Governor
James Shepherd       Co-opted Governor
Sarah-Jayne Speed       Staff Governor
Denise Tween       Co-opted Governor
      one co-opted governor vacancy
Cathryn Butler       Clerk to Governors

As well as the Local Governing Body (LGB), there are other governor committees: Finance Committee, Admissions Committee and Pay Committee.

The Local Governing Body and Finance Committee meet six times a year each; the Admissions Committee meets three times a year; and the Pay Committee once.

For more information about our governors, and the work they do, please visit the Governing Body Information page

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please write to The Chair of Governors, c/o Portishead Primary School or email the Clerk on pps.clerk@portisheadprimary.co.uk